kmrhaney

Brand New(bie) from Maryland

7 posts in this topic

Greetings All,

I am a newbie from Laurel, Maryland.  I settled on the idea of being a virtual assistant about 3 weeks ago.  I have not started my business; however, I am looking to do so soon.  I am currently a full-time government employee looking to retire in 8 years (or earlier!)  I have not decided on a specialty but mostly likely will be providing some form of business management services.  I have 20+ years of experience in financial grants management and a B.A. degree in accounting.  I may pursue a Project Management Certification but will need to know if it will truly benefit me in my VA business.

On a personal note, I'm married with 3 kids (24, 20 and 15).  My primary interest is traveling for pleasure.  I'm hoping this business venture will afford me the opportunity and flexibility to travel the world when I retire (or at least the Caribbean - Lol!). Over the past few weeks I've been absorbing as much as I can by carving out a few hours at the end of each day.  I had no idea that being a virtual assistant was so popular.  The amount of information available is extremely overwhelming.  I've joined quite a few VA Facebook groups and I am working on figuring out the best single source for all of my VA training.  Until then, I have been reading eBooks and watching free webinars to learn some of the information I need to get my business started. 

Well, enough about me! I look forward to learning from everyone in this forum. Thank you for accepting my request to join! 

1 person likes this