:unsure:

Hello Lovely Ladies,

I am a newbie and a potential client found me and inquired about my rates. I over priced myself out of a client already and I don't want to make the same mistake. I have decided to make my rates negotiable because I do not want to loose a potential client over rates. I do have a set rate that I won't go under, however I have to get back to this client with a good response and keep her interested. Any suggestions???

Reiterate, perhaps in different terms than you previously did, the value you can provide in exchange for XYZ dollars. Perhaps also suggest a smaller project so the prospect can "test" you out with less financial risk. Once she/he sees what you can do, often a prospect will end up signing on for bigger projects/retainers.

Bottom line though: do not get hung up on people who give you excuses as to why they can't afford you. It's really not your problem.

It's usually the other way around anyway. i.e. You can't afford them.

Good luck,

Karri

Hello Savvy,

I feel you may find the most satisfication down the road by having fixed rates instead of negotiable rates. Let me offer some points to consider . . . and hopefully avoid any future pricing headaches.

Determine your rates based on the types of services you are offering and the specialized skills you need to offer these services. For example desktop publishing service would probably cost a bit more than administrative services. Desktop publishing or bookkeepting needs specialized skill to perform well. Take some time to browse other VA sites to see the average range of rates. This will help you determine if you've overpriced your services or are still in the ballpark.