amytopel

WordPress or Blogger?

I am in the process of creating a website and in the meantime, would like to get a blog up and running. I have never blogged before so I am curious if anyone has a recommendation as far as WordPress or Blogger?

Also, I just bought my domain name and am wondering if anyone knows if I can use my domain name for my blog until I get my website up? I am new to all of this so I am not sure of the technical side of things!

Thanks in advance!

Amy

Guest Pat Z.

Amy,

Believe me, I was a blogging virgin until a few weeks ago. I use Blogger - not for any specific reason - I just wound up there from a recommendation at this forum. I find it very easy and you can name it anything you like (as long as it's not already taken).

I'm sure you'll get much more technical advice on this from the pros. I'm also going to check out the responses.

Good luck setting up your blog and with your business.

Blogging is easy. Check out my latest blog. It has to do with blogging. Also, use a feed such as feedburner for your blog. I did not write about it.

I use WordPress. It also is very easy to use and set up. You have the option of WordPress hosting the blog or hosting it yourself. You can give it any name as long as it's not taken. I chose to use my website name. You also have the option of establishing your blog as your website's homepage.

Lots of luck,

Colleen

Guest Paul VA

I use Wordpress.com because Blogger uses Picasa to host your images.

You can make your Wordpress.com blog name anything you want. It can be "abcxyz" if you want. That name becomes a subdomain of Wordpress.com. (http://abcxyz.wordpress.com)

If you have a domain name, then you go into your dashboard tab "Domain" and pay credits (you have to buy them) of $10 for Wordpress.com to be the 'nameserver' of your Domain name.

Now your potential clients will address your blog with your domain name (or the one described above). (http://amy.com?) See? It's simple! :whistlin:

Paul