Sign in to follow this  

Basic training for a sub-contractor

Hi! I am in the process of training a girl who will be a subcontractor for my business. I focus in real estate and have a lot of industry-specific tasks that I complete. She needs the training. We've agreed that she will be making 70% of whatever is billed out the my clients (I charge $20 so that works out to $14/hour). My question is this - during the training process, I don't want to pay $14 for an hour for a task that would normally take a trained person 10-15 mintues. I was thinking about maybe giving her a reduced training rate of 50% my billing rate until her training period of around a month is over. Then, I would offer projects for her to take and a flat rate based on how long I think it should take. She can accept them or not. Does that make sense or is there a better way to do this?

Renee

Hey Renee:

I have worked as a subcontractor for others, but it usually been doing something that I have some experience doing.

If it is something that I have never done before, I have always asked for direction for the 'quickest or most efficient way' to get something done before proceeding.

I have never been paid less for 'training' time. I think that is something that you, as the contractor, 'invests in' and then gets back when the sub is fully trained. I don't know if others agree, but I think that's an expense that you accept going in. If your sub repeatedly works slowly then you find someone else.

I have also subbed my own work out before, and I have told my sub how long a project would take me to do, and how long I would expect it to take them, given that they have never done it before. I ask them to stop at my completion time to show me how far along they are. That system worked very well with my guy and the second month he turned the work back to me as quickly as I could have done it myself. Speed picks up with practice, hopefully quickly! :)