rotunda50

Bookkeeping

I am a bookkeeper. Have been for years, but on a local face to face basis with my clients. I need to expand and this 'virtual' world may provide the answer. However, I am not sure how it works on the 'virtual' basis.

I have searched or researched several 'virtual' bookkeeping sites and I am no wiser.

Can anyone give me a general overview of how this works? How does the client send me his data? How do I pay 'his' bills?

Thanking all who reply.

Rotunda50

For us, it depends on the client and what fits them best. We really just go with the flow. Fax, courier, email, dropping off at my office, whatever. As for how you pay his bills, be careful with that, but if you have authorization and everything is good, you can do it online or print checks and send to them to sign and mail out, or they can do that part and you just do the entry. Every client is different, in my opinion :)

I agree with Candy. I worked for a non-profit that used a virtual bookkeeper and that's how we worked with her. We faxed invoices, she cut checks and sent them back to be signed and mailed. It was a great set up. She also paid our credit card bills online.

Angi.

Fortunately I have not been asked to take care of paying bills, although I do provide clients with a weekly cashflow analysis prior to the date that they pay bills, so that they can best judge what to pay and when if prioritizing is an issue for them.

I do take the initiative to create memorized transactions for their recurring bills, so they can just click on it and pay.

When it comes to reconciling their bank accounts, myself and my clients have found it more beneficial to allow me 'limited' access to their online banking. Therefore eliminating at least one task per month that they must remember-getting me that info! This way I just grab it myself the first of every month and send them an email when done.