Rude Prospects

So today I had an unfortunate experience that I wanted to share. I'm not looking for a pat on the back, but I thought I would share just in case this happens to anyone else.

I had a brief conversation with a prospect the other day and verbally agreed to do a very small (two hour) project for her next month. Due to several factors, including changes that she made to the project details, I knew immediately that this was not going to work for me. I called her to let her know that I wouldn't be able to do the project after all.

I have never done that before ... however, we had nothing in writing, she had not even asked my rate, and the project was not scheduled to be done for several weeks yet.

Well, she was not happy. I understood her frustration, but I was completely taken aback at the rant she left on my VM. It was very unnerving, but makes me glad that I made the decision not to work with her now, instead of months down the road. She ended by telling me that she thought I was unprofessional, and that she was not impressed. She seems oblivious to the fact that she was acting very unprofessionally, and that I was equally unimpressed. I did not voice these feelings to her, I simply continued to apologize for causing her anxiety. I wished her well with the project, and apologized that I could not help her with it. I thought that was a more professional approach. :)

I am confident that I provide dedicated, professional service to my clients. I also firmly believe that not everyone can work together.

I hope you are all having a better day!

Tracey

Hi Tracey,

Sorry to hear that you have to deal with someone like that - however, I'd say you backing out of the project is a blessing in disguise. Can you imagine working with this potential client at all?