Hi Michelle,

I have several subcontractors. It's generally 25-50% less than their regular rate. Many I know ONLY subcontract, they like not having the ultimate end of the line responsibility to the end client, less overhead, less headache, just less of everything). I'm very lucky and have wonderful subcontractors :)

I agree with Candy...anywhere from 25-50% less your regular rate. The benefit to you is that you don't have to spend any marketing dollars trying to get these clients since the person you are working for does all that work. Which means no administrative hassles for you, you can just do the work.

Guest Pat Z.

I'm one of those that "only subcontract" - I love it and love my clients! I generally charge 25-30% less than my normal rate because I don't have to market or as Candy puts it "not having the ultimate end of the line responsibility to the end client, less overhead, less headache, just less of everything)". Well put Candy!

I'm new to sub-contracting, and I'm a little confused here. If I were to sub-contract to another VA, and her subscontractor rate is the same as what my regular rate is to my client, then where is the profit for me? Obviously I wouldn't sub to someone unless they are 25%-50% less than my regular rate. So, what do you do in this instance? Do you charge your client more than what your regular rate is? Do you classify the markup as a Project rate? This is my first time looking at sub-contracting and I do have the need to hire a sub right now for a upcoming project.

Any advice is helpful.

Renee Cornick

Virtuacity

www.virtuacity.ca

Maybe you are misunderstanding . . . the subcontractor you will be hiring will charge you 25%-50% less than their regular rate and you will charge the customer YOUR regular rate, (we all should be in the same ballpark here, no little league!). When you charge your customer, your profit will be the difference between what you are paying your sub and the amount your client pays you!

Hi Renee,