Sign in to follow this  
edgeva

Canadian Subcontractor for US Business

I'm currently pursuing a sub-contracting agreement with a business in the United States who has asked me to submit a W-9 or an ITIN. I am confused, as it is my understanding that as a Canadian business owner, I am responsible to the Canadian Government, and that countries have agreements with each other for contract work to each other. Can anyone clarify possibly that has had some experience in this area?

Thanks!

Just an update: I spoke with a senior tax official at the Canada Revenue Agency. He stated that a business like mine operating from Canada and contracting to a U.S. business is responsible to the Canadian tax regulations only. To him, it sounds as though the PC was treating me as an employee, not a contractor; which would require consultation with the IRS.

I've followed up with the PC and explained the difference in offering my services as a contractor/self-employed individual vs an employee to try and clear up any of the confusion.

Just an update: I spoke with a senior tax official at the Canada Revenue Agency. He stated that a business like mine operating from Canada and contracting to a U.S. business is responsible to the Canadian tax regulations only. To him, it sounds as though the PC was treating me as an employee, not a contractor; which would require consultation with the IRS.

I've followed up with the PC and explained the difference in offering my services as a contractor/self-employed individual vs an employee to try and clear up any of the confusion.

Hi there,