Shalisha

7 cents per line seems cheap

Question: I recently started working as an IC with a really great company as a Legal VA. They are paying 7 cents per line. I've never done this before in terms of getting paid by line. I've always gotten paid by the hour. I have over 20 years legal secretary experience so I'm not wet behind the ears.

But honestly, is 7 cents per line cheap? Can I make a living off that? Also, is it possible to make a decent living doing work charging by the line? What is the going rate per line? Also, do you ever get raises per line after you've been with a company for a while. I'm with a very good company by the way in terms of their reputability.

Hi Shalisha,

I'm sure someone will stop by that can better answer your $ question, but I will say that if you can charge by the line or project, you will (in general) be more successful money-wise. People know exactly what to expect. The good is if you do it faster than you would hourly, but of course the reverse could also be true. I will tell you that it mostly evens out for me these days. I do bookkeeping and try to put everyone a monthly fee set price.

Hi Shalisha,

I'm sure someone will stop by that can better answer your $ question, but I will say that if you can charge by the line or project, you will (in general) be more successful money-wise. People know exactly what to expect. The good is if you do it faster than you would hourly, but of course the reverse could also be true. I will tell you that it mostly evens out for me these days. I do bookkeeping and try to put everyone a monthly fee set price.

Thank you so much! I do type 85WPM so that's a good thing. With this company they don't charge by the piece, they do it by line. Thanks again for your feedback and help.

Shalisha, I am going to move this post over to the legal area as you will get a better response there. In future, check to see what forum topic your question would best fit under and post it there to get a quicker answer.