maeday

Clients

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out and now I was wondering what is the best way to go about getting clients? On the average how long did it take to get your first client? I am currently w/twitter, linkedin, submit to SEOs. Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks

Network! Get to know people. Take yourself to a BNI function or a chamber function and get to know people. You never know who knows who.

One of my clients didn't think joining the Chamber would be good for her business, but a year later she's busier than she ever thought she'd be and she's just hired 2 more graphic artists to work with her. She does all the graphics for the Chamber and about 20 of the Chamber members are her clients - and they're referring people that AREN'T Chamber members.

I wish my local Chamber did not charge so much for membership. It is $225 to join and that is way out of my price range.

-----------------------------

Deneen Wilson

Guest dawn lane
I wish my local Chamber did not charge so much for membership. It is $225 to join and that is way out of my price range.

-----------------------------

Deneen Wilson

Typing Bug

www.typingbug.com

"If typing bugs you, let me help!"

Hi Deneen

Don't look at it as an expense but an investment. $225 sounds a lot but you only need one client and you will find that fee more than covered.

My networking group costs me £184 per annum plus £8.00 per meeting - a total of £520 GBP each year (and the annual cost is half price as I am group secretary). However, I picked up a client at my very first meeting two years ago and we are still working together, so my membership costs have been more than covered. Check whether it is an expense that can be claimed against your annual tax return.