Dawn03

A question for those offering bookkeeping services

Hi everyone,

I was curious how you handle checkruns when doing a/p for a client. I am just starting out and trying to get as much as possible worked out in my head (and on paper) before "opening the doors". I am wondering if I need to get a laser printer so that I can print the checks, or do I send them an open a/p list, and they print their own checks? I am thinking that it probably depends on what the client wants to do.

If you do print checks for them; do you get a certain amount of blank checks at a time, do you have a clearing account where you print the checks and they reimburse you for the total amount of the checkrun, or do you do something else entirely?

I would love to hear what works and what doesn't from everyone.

Thanks in advance,

Dawn

Guest Pat Z.

Hi Dawn,

For my direct bookkeeping clients, I don't print checks. Any AP I do is through their online banking or Quickbooks bill pay. I've never actually handled the printing of checks, but I'm sure other bookkeepers will join in and let you know how they handle it.

Hi Pat,

I like that idea. Thanks for responding so quickly.

Hi Dawn,

For my direct bookkeeping clients, I don't print checks. Any AP I do is through their online banking or Quickbooks bill pay. I've never actually handled the printing of checks, but I'm sure other bookkeepers will join in and let you know how they handle it.

Dawn: I have some local clients that I print checks for. When I have the week's checks ready, they get mailed to the client for signatures. In most instances, the check is already paperclipped to a window envelope and stamped, so it's really sign-n-go for the client.