brenlim

I need a niche, or do I have one??? Need help please!

Sorry ahead of time if this is way long…

I have been interested in and researching the VA business for a few years and am just now taking the plunge with both feet. I resigned from my full time away from home gig at a corporate office effective 9/30, to get into VA work and be home more with my 1 year old son, and I am a little lost. The place where I am lost is I don’t really know my niche or if I even have one? I’ve been in admin support for over 9 years, and the past 3 I have spent proofreading, editing and processing document changes so I am somewhat of a MS Word guru (but how far is that going to get me?). I can proofread with the best and catch mistakes that others leave behind, but I don’t know if I would be comfortable editing a book or anything like that but I would be willing to try! I’m pretty decent with grammar but in no way do I have a degree in English!

I have an AAS degree in CIS with emphasis in Web Design, and I used to be able to hand code websites and build in Dreamweaver 8 but I haven’t practiced in 3 years so that is kind of lost. I took a programming class and a database administration class and built db in Access from the ground up, but I also haven’t practiced that in 3 years either. I am seasoned in event planning, large and small (but how far is that going to get me?). I have superior customer service skills and I can resolve issues in a heartbeat, very good people skills. I have also worked as a bank teller.

If I purchased some books and guides, like Access for dummies and html for dummies and Dreamweaver for dummies, I probably could fumble my way through building a db or a website, but what if I fail? Should I go ahead and try it anyway??

SO, any ideas for me out there? Do I try the things I have done in the past and just hang my head if I fail with a client??