HELLO FROM OH-IO

Hello everyone!

I'm going to try this again! I tried to start my VA business a couple of years ago while also owning/managing two tanning salons in our small town of Ashland, OH.

The tanning industry was hit pretty hard during the early years of the recession. Tanning is one of the primary non-essential expenses most families cut out of their budgets. In trying to cut expenses, I thought I would find another source of income and take myself off the payroll. I began putting together my VA business plan, marketing, etc.; however it just became too overwhelming at the time trying to run the businesses and finding the time to research and market myself. Prior to my husband and I purchasing our first tanning salon in 2005, I also worked full-time as an Administrative Assistant to the Director of Auxiliary Services at our local University. In 2006, we purchased our second salon. Due to employee issues and the salons needing a full-time manager, I resigned at the University after almost seven years. Those were some of the best "work experience" days of my career (ex. co-coordinating parades, ice-sculpting and 5K City Walk events)!

In January of 2009, we were forced to close our first salon. I was still unable to find work as a VA, so I accepted a full-time position as a Sales Associate at Macy's in Mansfield, OH (half hour drive) in the Men's Department. After six month's in that position, the management team thought I would be a good sales associate to boost sales in the Fine Jewelry Department. In December of 2009, we closed our second salon. Fortunately, I had my position at Macy's! Mid-February of 2010, I accepted a part-time position as a part of the Administrative Support Team in the office. Let me tell ya, retail is a whole nother animal....