Deborah02

Newbie Starting a Website--Need Advice!! Help!

Hi everyone,

I haven't started building my website yet and wanted to know if wordpress.org would be the best place to start. I'm not very technically minded so I don't want it to be too complicated. The only website I have built was through Storesonline for a partnership my mother and I have: The Homeschoolers Clubhouse If you want to see what I have previously done, please take a look. I welcome your critism! I just need a direction of where to start. Thank you! :rolleyes:

Yes I would recommend Wordpress. It's more SEO friendly and you can find some very themes online to use. I prefer iThemes but I would recommend googling wordpress themes and taking a look at them.

I haven't used WordPress myself, so I don't know how it would compare, but my website is hosted through Host Gator. I used one of their free templates to get me started, although I am ready now to do a little more sophisticated work on my site. I have been with Host Gator for nearly two years and I have been very happy with them so far. I found their templates easy to use. But, as I said, I haven't tried WordPress to know if WordPress would be easier or not. If you decide to give Host Gator a try, do a Google search for coupons, they are almost always running a promo of some sort to try it for really cheap. I pay $9.95/month for my plan.

Wordpress is a good choice. For my clients (non-profits and educators) with limited budgets, I now recommend Weebly.com. The design tools are simple and hosting and a domain name are free with the basic version.

I honestly planned on starting up with Wordpress but when I downloaded it, I hated it. But I am a do it yourselfer that has to customize every button and toolbar. I know other people that have used Weebly and liked it. I think Vistaprint has a business website builder too.