Aube

Showing Rates on Your Website

In an effort to gain more knowledge about being a small business owner, I met with a

SCORE counselor yesterday. We talked about various things, including my website. I told him that I had a link on my website to my services page, where I list various things that I do. From that page I have a link to my "Rates and Information" page.

He told me that he wouldn't necessarily put rates and information on the website. If people wanted to know my prices, why wouldn't they call or email. They may take the information on my page to use as a negotiation tool with another vendor, instead of actually calling me.

Furthermore he gave this example. When you think of Walmart you think of "Low prices" Walmart advertises their prices. When you think of Nordstrom what do you think?? "High Quality" but Nordstrom doesn't advertise their prices. If they can afford your services clients will let you know, but advertising your rates on your site cheapens your product.

How many VA's have their rates on their site?

• Like 2

I do have pricing listed on my web site. And after listening to a few people talk about this from a client perspective: they like to know what the prices are, as they are busy and don't want to waste their time calling someone, and their pricing isn't in their budget.

By having pricing on my site, it weeds through those who can't afford my pricing, it saves me time from having calls with clients who can't afford me. So it's a time saver all around.

However, having pricing on my site does not mean clients do not call me - they ALL do, or at least email me, because they aren't sure how much time they need. So I can then discuss their needs and advise on which of my packages would work for them. ;)

Again, the majority of the time, my clients come to me via referral. So they already have a level of know-like-trust with me, via our mutual connection. That's really a soft pre-sell of my services.