Guest jeriwoods

Question on Fax/Multifunction machines

Guest jeriwoods

Hi all,

I'm just getting started as a VA with an extremely ("Do we NEED that postage stamp?") limited budget and a cramped home office.

I already have a computer, high-speed cable modem, scanner, and colour printer, but I want to add a fax to the mix, and I'm not sure what to get. I only have one phone line and would prefer not to add another.

I'm considering getting a multi-function printer/copier/fax machine, which could sit where my printer sits now, but I do a lot of desktop publishing, and I want to be sure I can still get the same quality of printing (fast black-and-white printing, photo colour capability, and preferably the ability to print on both sides of the page - my HP Deskjet will do this by printing the even pages, prompting the user how to re-insert the pages in the printer, and then printing the odd pages).

So -

Standalone fax or multi-function machine?

Which machines offer good quality at a low price? (At this point, laser printing is beyond my budget).

And how urgent is it to have a fax machine? (I have a few local clients, none of whom require the use of a fax at this point).

I'm just putting my website up today, so I have time - but I'd like to make an informed decision.

Thanks!

Hi Jeri,

I am in the same position as you financially! It is the pits!

I originally purchased a stand alone inexpensive fax machine (Brother). It works great but the refills are expensive if you receive a lot of faxes. I received a 4 in one for my birthday and it is great but does not have an automatic feed. Right now I am using the 4 in one to receive and when I send faxes I use the stand alone.

I have a phone number with a special ring for my fax machine.

Hope this helps!

Nancy smile.gif

Guest CindyHillsey

Hi Jeri,