Kathy H

Bookkeeping question

I just recently took over the bookkeeping for a current client, and have a few questions I thought maybe someone on the forum could answer for me.

The books were previously being handled by an older woman who was an accountant. I'm not. I'm a very simple bookkeeper, and find the easiest way to get the job done. This is a VERY small company who does maybe five invoices a month. He does pay himself via the payroll settings on Quickbooks online. So, it's a very simple job....or it should be very simple.

Just wanted to give some quick background.

Jen, the previous bookkeeper did some training during the previous month to get me up to speed on what she does/did and how to do everything. Frankly, she's done some things that I honestly don't understand why she did them the way she did. It seems like if there was an easy way and a hard way to do the same thing, she chose the hard way. But maybe it's just the difference between an accountant and a bookkeeper.