Tawnya Sutherland

Male Virtual Assistants, a new niche?

I've been reading online through my social networks that male Virtual Assistants actually are finding themselves a minority in the VA business. Let's change that and bring some light to male Virtual Assistants! :)

Men make up 5% of the VA industry and its super cool to start seeing them wear the VA hat.

Let's discuss some of the challenges (and successes) you are finding getting started in the VA industry...

• Like 3

OMG I never noticed this cozy forum space before haha. All to myself! But seriously, would be good to see more male VAs. I think that problem is there's a consensus that it is like secretarial work. I think men could exploit the tech side if they knew the categories of being a VA etc.

Another oddity is I see a lot of 'free' tier male members in the forums. They often come and go.

Ironically I posted on facebook today encouraging men to join. Perhaps I need to lead by example.

• Like 3

Well, I am a newbie and male, looking for ways to work on line from Guadalajra, Mexico and along with proofreading/editing, working as a Virtual Assistant was one of the options touted. So, here I am trying to learn all that I can before I put my feet in the water.

• Like 3

Your not that alone! Tawnya that explains A LOT! I have been wondering why everywhere I was going and looking and reading was geared toward woman and moms etc. a 5% figure would explain that! I have also noticed that in my corporate life! Only a few male EA's surrounded by many female and you tend to get overlooked. Not only am I a man trying to get into the VA game but I am single so I only have the one income and that is a major concern as to when you will feel ready to make the jump and quit the guaranteed paycheck!

• Like 4