AMichele1

Looking for a starting point

Hello All!

I am a newbie with an Accounting degree looking to possibly start a VA business. My question is, where do I start? Should I get certified in a software program like QuickBooks, Sage, etc., first? If so, which one do you recommend?

I want to work with small businesses to set them up and get their accounting systems running and possibly maintain them (I may look to eventually outsource to other bookkeepers). Your thoughts/suggestions are greatly appreciated?

Thank you :-)

AMichele1

Welcome! I am a 'Certified Quickbooks User', which really helped me to be sure I know Quickbooks really well. As far as starting a VA bookkeeping business, it's the same setup as any other type of small business at first. Check out Tawnya's Kickstart Your VA Business! Then, go through the forums and see what answers you can find up front. If you still have questions, send me an email as I help mentor start-up VAs in bookkeeping by answering questions, guiding toward resources, etc. :)

• Like 2

Hi AMichele1! Welcome here! I agree with Lily regarding the setup of any small business. What accounting tools online I often heard are Quicbooks, Freshbooks, and Zoho Invoice. Good luck as you start your VA business. :)

Hello AMichele1 and welcome!

I myself do basic bookkeeping for several small businesses in my local community, and I find that some of them don't even really require accounting specific software. Some of them prefer excel spreadsheets. As each client is different, I find it best to examine the client's needs before recommending an approach.

The first thing I discuss with the client, is WHO they want to enter the data.

1. If they are going to be entering the data, they need something they can work with, and it won't be helpful if the file "lives" on my pc. I have a few clients who are not very computer savvy, and they find an excel spreadsheet a lot less intimidating than accounting specific software.