Sign in to follow this  
Jpaul8

Struggling to get started...help!

Hello all!

I'm still relatively new to the VA world and am trying to form a cliental base. I've been posting and applying to jobs for about 2 months but to no avail! I've been posting mainly on UpWork. I really believe I could get a business going well if I could obtain my first client...it's just getting started! Do any of you long-time and well-connected VA's have any advice for me?

As I'm still new to the business, but I'm trying to narrow down my niche. I'm currently applying to "Personal Assistant" or "Social Media Marketing" type jobs.

I'd really appreciate any tips- thank you all! :)

• Like 1

I have had no luck with upwork because I have never been hired by any of their clients before and they all (so far) want job history with upwork. Try responding to Craigs list ads (pr even posting one of you own offering your services) and tell everyone you know about your business. You never know where clients will come from. :)

• Like 2

You might try marketing through your social networks as well if you have a website to direct people to. Write some interesting blog posts to get clients interested in you, checking your out and the ultimate catch is getting them to sign up to your newsletter at your website. The $$$ is in the List!

An easier route if you don't want to do all the marketing legwork is to sign up to some VA member websites that actually have awesome job boards like our VAinsiders Club. That is the easiest way to get clients as the clients that post jobs at our network know the value of a VA ($25-40/hr) and are willing to pay that. You are not competing for $4/hr jobs on oDesk, etc.

Landing just one client at our job board can not only pay for our membership but also start the word of mouth referrals from happy clients start rolling in :)

• Like 2