Hi, 

I'm new and just trying to start out and get a grip on what a VA is. 

So, yesterday made me question everything. I had an interview with a potential client. (Which turned out to be a scam, not really surprised.) But the interviewer confused me in sending a legit sounding welcome letter to the company and then asked me to do some questionable things. So, I asked someone for assistance in this as I was pretty sure it was a scam but wanted confirmation, since this was my first potential client and no clue what to expect. 

I talked to this woman for a while. She told me she had been doing VA work for 28 years. She asked how long I had been a VA. I told her this was my first client, (which in my mind says I'm just starting out). She rudely said she didn't care if this was my first client how long had I been a VA. I just started trying to get my first client for maybe a month. She said well then you aren't qualified to be a VA without years of experience. What my past work experience was. Well, some writing and a bookkeeping, general office work here and there. I have a degree in business management. Then she asked about my services. I replied my services were writing, data entry, and bookkeeping. She replied those are not VA services. Then she told me I needed to get my act together and figure out what services I want to offer. She asked about my target market. That is what I've been wrestling with and yes I know I need to know my market, but to be honest I'm not sure who my target market is. Then she was rude and told me I had no business trying to be a VA as I don't have the proper services, I don't know who my market is, that I do not have at least 3 years to be a VA and it takes about 5 -10 years to actually get your first client.