Sign in to follow this  
jpymento

Need some advice

I have to go meet a sole practitioner tomorrow and he wants me to work for him 20-25 hours per week at his office. He also wanted to know if I would be able to assist a friend of his who needs some administrative assistance. I thought this might be a good time to see if he would go for the idea of me working from home but I dont know how to put this across to him. This way I would be able to assist both him and his friend as well as meet the needs of my family.

Any ideas as to how to broach this topic with him?? This is my first time and any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks

I have been a similar situation where the client wanted me to work onsite. For me it wasn't a big deal - their office was 10 mins away, and I charged my normal rate. I was sure to set the boundaries - so if for example I had another client meeting, I would just say "I'm unavailable" on XX day. At first it was a little hard - I felt like I should have been asking permission, but had to remind myself I wasn't an employee.

Over time, I have been able to extract myself from their office - and they have seen that isn't difficult at away for me to work offiste. I do however find it useful still working out of the office at times - especially in terms of communicating with the rest of the team.

Perhaps explain that you normally work off-site, but say you would be happy to start an arrangement working onsite to begin with, then slowly showing which tasks can be taken offsite. Explaining that you are more efficient offsite, better setup with equipment etc call all be ok.